A Study in Intellectual Dishonesty

[This post has been moved to Thinking-Critically.com]

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Debate, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Study in Intellectual Dishonesty

  1. aniche says:

    ur intelligence scares me! 😯

  2. Doorwamma says:

    Hi all!
    Nice site!

    Bye

  3. XRumerTest says:

    Hello. And Bye.

  4. 2serious says:

    Rod,

    What a long and tedious exchange. Let me answer the questions:
    1. “Amazing conversion story” – IDK. I know lots of people who have struggled and achieved sobriety with lots of difficulty. Why doesn’t God do an amazing work in every addict’s life. Maybe change the gene that predisposes them to addiction? He either can’t, or doesn’t care to. Or, he’s not there. I don’t care about the amazing story. Amazing stories are just substitutes for crack.
    2. What has everybody been talking about since before history? 1. Food 2. Weather 3. sex Not in that order, necessarily.
    3. this third question doesn’t interest me in the slightest. I yawned when I read it. I only think of the questioner’s narcisitic interest in self and the fact that he prayed for a building. Great another fanatic wanting to build a building. Dime a dozen. You may say, “See that proves my point. You didn’t answer my question!” I don’t think it counts if nobody cares about the question. Anyway, you’re boring me to death.

    • Rodibidably says:

      This exchange went on over quite a long period (6-8 weeks as I recall) over email, his blogs, this blog, etc…

      Each time I answered his question, he’d either change the question or be unwilling to accept any answer, even one that was exactly what he asked for.

      I came to the realization early on that NO answer would have ever been sufficient for him, but I was hoping ot show him that as well.
      Based on his final email to me, and the fact that he cut off communication, I doubt I made any impact on him; but perhaps my comments on his blog at least lead one of his readers to look for more information than he was supplying.

      • 2serious says:

        Rod,

        I think for people like your Christian enthusiast adversary the payoff for staying entrenched in such an extremely non-rational position is so great that they cannot think about considering another point of view.

        Whether it be a need for attention, the admiration of an older relative or mentor or some other unknown thought process, the information can only be put out there for someone to see.

        And you’ve done an excellent job of making it available.

    • Rodibidably says:

      This particular guy was never going to listen to any evidence, or any answer that was not “wow, god sure does live you”, and for whatever reason he felt that engaging in a debate with me might lead to that outcome.

      My guess is that most people in his life are like him, and they all agree on just about everything, and he rarely, if ever, comes into contact with dissenting opinions. Based on the way he “debated”, it’s obvious he has had little experience discussing topics like this. I’d like to think that if he sticks around long enough he’ll get better at this type of discussion, but then I look at somebody like Ray Comfort, and realize that time does not always bring rationality, or the ability to understand various topics.

      The best to hope for, since my guess is he himself is beyond hope, is that somebody else sees his arguments, realizes that it’s not a defensible position, and look for the evidence them self instead of looking for somebody else to give it to them.

Leave a comment