An “interesting” bumper sticker

Running some errands today I was behind a car with what I felt was an odd bumper sticker. Unfortunately I was unable to take a picture of it while driving, but I found the same one online.

I have seen many “god bless our troops” stickers, shirts, signs, etc since W’s crusade, I mean the Afghanistan and Iraq wars, began. But this was the first time I had come across one with this particular extra line added.

The “god bless our troops” part actually makes sense. If you believe that god is good and listens to prayers, then asking god to bless the troops is an act of compassion, essentially asking for protection for those in danger. It has no actual value for the troops, but at least those who say it have good intentions.

But to add the part “especially our snipers” changes the entire meaning of this quote. A sniper’s job plain and simple is to kill. By asking for a blessing specifically for snipers it seems to me as if the blessing is directed towards helping them do their job, not merely keeping them safe. So this changes the quote from one asking for the safety of those in danger to asking to make killers more efficient.

And that, to me, is just barbaric…

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Psychology, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to An “interesting” bumper sticker

  1. sara says:

    Are you kidding me? You are a ridiculous person, and should move to another country. Do you even have anyone in the military? OBVIOUSLY NOT! If you did you would be honored to have anyone that serves this country and keeps us safe, no matter their duties. And it isn’t barbaric, it is their job, and it keeps us safe. Killing is a normal part of war. HOW DARE YOU! You crazy liberal. I’m sure you voted for Obama too. Hows that change coming along?

    • Jeff Randall says:

      sara,
      Are you kidding me?
      Nope, not in the slightest. I use humor in many of my posts, but in this particular one, I’m 100% serious.

      You are a ridiculous person,
      Many times I am ridiculous. In this case, I’m being serious.

      and should move to another country.
      Why exactly? Because I don’t fit into your narrow-minded view of patriotism? Well I’m sorry, but go fuck yourself.

      Do you even have anyone in the military? OBVIOUSLY NOT!
      Actually I do know at least 3 people fighting oversees right now. And while I hope they are safe, I find that to be a much different sentiment than hoping for them to be more efficient at killing others.
      I’m not a fan of murder, under any circumstances. If that concept is too difficult to grasp, then I’d suggest pulling your head out of your ass and listening to somebody other than O’Rielly, Beck, Limbaugh, Coulter, Hannity, etc… Perhaps listening to another view point occasionally would help you understand that there are very many smart people who disagree with you on many issues.

      If you did you would be honored to have anyone that serves this country and keeps us safe, no matter their duties.
      As I said, I do have people I know over there. And I wish all of our soldiers a safe return. But that is a far cry from hoping they become more efficient killers.

      And it isn’t barbaric, it is their job, and it keeps us safe. Killing is a normal part of war.
      Sorry, but it is barbaric. You’re just wrong. I’d suggest talking to the families of civilians we’ve killed and then tell me it’s not barbaric…
      You are correct that killing is a part of war. I’d argue that at the very least one of the two wars we are currently in is an unjustifiable war. And any killing in an unjustifiable war, is by definition, unjustifiable.

      HOW DARE YOU!
      I dare, because it is my right. One of the best things about this country. You have the right to spew your ignorant vile opinions, and I have the right to call you a despicable piece of garbage.

      You crazy liberal.
      Yes I am liberal. I believe in helping my fellow man, not killing them. I believe in equal rights for all, not special preferences for some. I believe in war as a last resort. Perhaps those beliefs make me crazy, I think they make me human.

      I’m sure you voted for Obama too. Hows that change coming along?
      Obama has done a few things I’m not a fan of. He has not done a few things I wanted him to (at least not yet). But his predecessor left him one hell of a mess, I’m willing to give him time to accomplish his goals.
      And I’m pretty damn happy that he won. The alternative would have been horrendous.

      • Daniela says:

        I totally agree with your point that praying for our snipers to be more efficient killers is barbaric and praying for our troops protection is compassionate. I believe God is love and therefore it is not in God’s will for anyone to be a more efficient killer. I disagree that praying for protection for those in danger has no actual value for the troops, since you are an athiest I understand your reasoning. I believe if what is prayed is in God’s will and timing, it will be answered. I also agree with you that there are those out there that need to pull their head out of their asses. When we are firm in our beliefs we should have no problem listening to alternative viewpoints on any subject, politics and religion included. Unfortunately there are way too many on both camps unwilling to listen to other views in fear of finding out that they didn’t know everything after all. We all need to respect each other as individuals and love our neighbor as ourselves. We can all learn from one another.

  2. Byron Banks says:

    Great bumper sticker. POLITICAL CORRECTNESS needs to be sniped!!
    I have one on my vehicle that says “HANG HASAN”

    A Liberal is someone who is so open-minded that their brain has fallen out!!

    • Jeff Randall says:

      Well since you left no rational discourse or attempt to refute the points I made in my reply to sara, I’m going to suggest you read the reply to her. Barring that, or your making some actual points that are more than your own ignorant opinion, I’m not what else there is to say…

  3. Doc says:

    OP you are an idiot, snipers are much more precise and efficient then other more commonly used means of termination practiced by our military. They can selectively choose who they eliminate with less collateral damage compared to the now oh so common drone strikes/ missile strikes while keeping our infantry troops farther away from the action. The faster they eliminate actual threats the quicker our loved ones can come home.

  4. Steve says:

    Great bumper sticker. I have one on the back of my car. Thank god for the Barrett 50 also!

  5. Gump says:

    just a thought here, the main duty of a sniper is typically recon and destroying enemy equipment. Simply put, snipers do a lot more than just kill people.

  6. Derek says:

    Allow me to expand upon it for you.

    A sniper’s role in most modern engagements is “overwatch”, aka “observe and protect”. Military snipers aren’t indescriminate killers, they only kill when their lives or the lives of the group/operation which they’re actively supporting. By asking for a blessing and protection for those “killers” you’re asking for minimized unnecessary killing, if one sniper kills one person who would otherwise killed themselves and as many others as they could have taken with them, you greatly reduce the loss of life. Think of it like a gardener or a tree trimmer, removing the bad so the good may flourish.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Jeff is a pussy

Leave a Reply

