Should we “allow” a mosque at Ground Zero

[This post has been moved to Thinking-Critically.com]

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Debate, Politics, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Should we “allow” a mosque at Ground Zero

  1. writerdood says:

    How many blocks away will be sufficient for them?
    Would three blocks away be far enough?
    Four?
    Maybe what they really want is to have NO mosques in NY.

  2. poietes says:

    Two blocks is not a few yards, but that’s not the point. I remember after 9/11 how overflowing with tolerance NYC was, as was the country in general. We went out of our way to point out that extremists are not representative of all Muslims. And while peope shake their head and finger point and say that this is a Christian nation, I would beg to differ. This is a nation that was built on religious tolerance, religious freedom. That is not the same as being a Christian nation. This is not a theocracy.

    Yes, I still keenly feel the losses of 9/11, the horror, the tragedy, even though no family or friends were involved. Would I still support the community center/mosque if some I knew had been involved? I would hope so.

    I believe that those who are against the building of this mosque have lost sight of some basic principles upon which this country is based, and that saddens me. As for Pat Condell and his ilk, please. Don’t bother; your warning of dire consequences only inflames those who choose to act not out of reason but out of emotion.

    I wouldn’t want Fred Phelps to move into my neighborhood, but as you know, I would support his right to do so. The same goes for anyone else’s religions. I’m so tired of the intolerance that is running rampant in this country. Too bad that people do not realize that intolerance is the true evil, the one that compels people to fight and kill in the name of their religion. Intolerance, ignorance, and hatred: the fatal triad.

    • Jeff Randall says:

      Two blocks is not a few yards, but that’s not the point. I remember after 9/11 how overflowing with tolerance NYC was, as was the country in general.
      For me it’s not an issue of “tolerance”. In fact, I’m VERY opposed to the idea of “tolerance”: https://potomac9499.wordpress.com/2008/12/19/thoughts-on-tolerance/

      Personally I find it to be in bad taste that somebody would want to build a mosque there, but if they choose to do so, I firmly believe that is their right.

      We went out of our way to point out that extremists are not representative of all Muslims.
      Actually I think that moderate religious people create the environment where the extremists can thrive and build support. I’m not saying that all muslims are terrorists (any more than all atheists are grumpy or all christians are homophobic), but I do believe that without the moderate muslims (or if the moderates would completely disavow themselves from the extremeists and help fight against them as hard, if not harder, as the rest of the world), it would be much harder (if not impossible) for the muslim terrorists to operate.
      I want moderate sunnis calling out extremist sunnis. I want moderate shiahs calling out extremist shiahs. Anything short of that, makes the moderates as culpable as those who are killing.

      And while peope shake their head and finger point and say that this is a Christian nation, I would beg to differ. This is a nation that was built on religious tolerance, religious freedom. That is not the same as being a Christian nation. This is not a theocracy.
      *CLAPS*

      And the rest of your comment, I have to say I agree with every word…

Leave a Reply

