Liz Phair’s “Cinco de mayo”

In a “special” Music Monday, I thought I’d post this song because it’s quite appropriate today, and I love Liz Phair.

Unfortunately, this version does not have the best sound quality, I can’t seem to find a better recording, but it should give you an idea of her sound, and what it was like back when MTV actually played music…

Cinco de mayo, blowout, denial
It wasn’t fun this time, letting you go
What if I never, a bullet forever,
Held out my hand to you?
We wouldn’t have known beautiful flow

Absolute measure, I ain’t no pleasure hound
Bus out of control, ploughing the road
Out on a bender
Just Alice falling down a deepening hole

I’d never been to Rome until you smiled
You’re about as old and piled

Used to pray for snow
Now I just wonder
What spell I was under
Thinking you thought of me as something to hold

I’d never been to Rome until you smiled
You’re about as old and piled

Cinco de mayo, burn-out Ohio
It wasn’t me this time letting you go

Cinco de mayo, blowout, denial
It wasn’t fun this time, letting you go
What if I never, a bullet forever,
Held out my hand to you?
We wouldn’t have known beautiful flow

Absolute measure, I ain’t no pleasure hound
Bus out of control, ploughing the road
Out on a bender
Just Alice falling down a deepening hole

I’d never been to Rome until you smiled
You’re about as old and piled

Used to pray for snow
Now I just wonder
What spell I was under
Thinking you thought of me as something to hold

I’d never been to Rome until you smiled
You’re about as old and piled

Cinco de mayo, burn-out Ohio
It wasn’t me this time letting you go

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

