Kermit the Frog, Johnny Cash, and Nine Inch Nails’ “Hurt”

Rodibidably reports.

You decide (which version is best):

I hurt myself today
To see if I still feel
I focus on the pain
The only thing that’s real
The needle tears a hole
The old familiar sting
Try to kill it all away
But I remember everything

[Chorus:]
What have I become
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know goes away
In the end
And you could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

I wear this crown of thorns
Upon my liar’s chair
Full of broken thoughts
I cannot repair
Beneath the stains of time
The feelings disappear
You are someone else
I am still right here

[Chorus:]
What have I become
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know goes away
In the end
And you could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

If I could start again
A million miles away
I would keep myself
I would find a way

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kermit the Frog, Johnny Cash, and Nine Inch Nails’ “Hurt”

  1. Laura Ross says:

    The Johnny Cash one makes me cry. I vote for it, but the Kermit one is kind of hilarious.

    Sadly, the Nine Inch Nails just isn’t as good.

  2. Sarah says:

    LOVE THIS. 3 Great videos – so hard to say which is best! They all have so much to offer. 🙂

  3. poietes says:

    Omigawd, a drug-addled Kermit. Such an image.

    The Cash version always, always gets to me. Nine Inch Nails–nope. Kermit, loved it.

  4. Jeff Randall says:

    I love the original version myself. I think Trent Reznor’s voice shows the pain that this song is meant to bring to mind…

    Then again I love the Cash version as well. Before I heard it, I would have said that nobody else could really do justice to this song, and I would have been wrong…

    And while the Kermit version is not quite on the same emotional level as the other two, there is something unique about Kermit spiraling down into a drug addict, giving a blow-job to another Muppet, and rocking back and forth alone in a shower…

Leave a Reply

