One person’s “conversion” to atheism

I came across this and kinda liked the story, so I thought I’d share…

While it does not share too much in common with my own experiences, it’s always interesting to see other paths to the same end…

This is is short overview of my life as a Christian and why I became an atheist. This is mainly for those religious people who may state that I do not know what I am talking about, or that I have not studied Christianity in any real depth.

Yes – I know I was not “born a Christian” and highlight this fact later in the video. For brevity I made that statement instead of “I was born an atheist in a Christian family and raised with the values, rituals, and conventions inherit in such situations”. The popular understanding of the phrase has the meaning I was looking for without having to go into a massive explanation as to why everyone is born an atheist. Besides, if I had gone down that route I would now be defending a “I was born an atheist” comment to all the idiot theists who visit. Furthermore, if anyone make a comment about this again I will give you the thumbs down – if you can’t be bothered reading the descriptions of videos, it’s your own fault.

There is a slight problem with the Youtube version – it cuts off one of two closing slides and the credit for the music, which called “High Drama” from the album “Pictures” by Timo Maas.

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One person’s “conversion” to atheism

  1. poietes says:

    Well, that was interesting, but a bit scattered, which, I imagine, comes from trying to compress a lifetime’s worth of thoughts into a snapshot.

Leave a Reply

