Lies Christians Tell

I came across this YouTube series today, and had to share a few of my favorites from the series…

Atheism is a Belief

Atheism is a Belief System

Atheism Requires Faith

Lack of Belief = Assertion of Falsehood

Knowing is a matter of certainty

You Can’t Prove God Doesn’t Exist

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Religion, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lies Christians Tell

  1. writerdood says:

    Thanks. I was just having a discussion about this on another blog, and I wasn’t sure if atheists felt atheism was a belief or defined it as the lack of belief. It seems pretty clear you define it as the lack of belief, and not a belief in itself. Correct?

    Say, what do you call someone who doesn’t think about it, and just doesn’t give a shit? Is that agnostic, or atheism?

    This is from wikipedia:

    agnosticism can be defined in various ways, and is sometimes used to indicate doubt or a skeptical approach to questions. In some senses, agnosticism is a stance about the differences between belief and knowledge, rather than about any specific claim or belief. As such, the term agnostic does not necessarily signal a particular view about religion or God, as some agnostics also identify as theists or atheists.

    • Jeff Randall says:

      I go into a very detailed description of my personal thoughts on this subject on a previous post: https://potomac9499.wordpress.com/2008/08/05/is-atheism-a-religionfaithbelief-systemetc/

      The short version is: Atheism is no more, and no less than a lack of belief in god.

      Many people use lines like “atheism is a religion like bald is a hair color” or “atheism is a belief system like not collecting stamps is a hobby“. I think these are both good quick ways to make the point.

      —–

      As for somebody who doesn’t care one way or another, they could be a theist and not care, or an atheist and not care. I’d use the term apatheist (apathetic atheist or theist) or something like that.

      —–

      And I would argue that agnosticism answers a different question than atheism.
      Atheism asks what is your opinion on the topic of god(s).
      Agnosticism asks “can you prove it”.

      In my experience, most people who call themselves agnostic do not believe in a god or gods, they just believe that atheism sounds too certain, so they go with another label. I called myself agnostic for many years in fact, not because my answer to “is there a god or gods” was different than it is today, but because I felt I did not have enough information to say. Over time, the more I learned the more I came to realize that I had been right all along and eventually began to call myself an atheist.

Leave a Reply

