John Hiatt’s “Master Of Disaster”

I listen to music constantly (occasionally broken up by listening to podcasts). And by constantly I mean I can’t stand silence, it creeps me out to no end…

This means I have a type of relationship with lyrics, melody, rhythm, and just overall sound. So today at work I have my music going and I hear a song I’ve heard dozen’s of times before, and yet somehow I heard something new in this song. I’m not sure how to explain what I heard this time that I had not heard before, but perhaps I won’t be alone…

Close one there
Choking in clean underwear
Bleeding tongue
Eight ball pounding in my lungs
Ship to shore
I can’t see the coastline anymore
I shouldn’t be here
I thought I made that loud and clear

But the master of disaster
Gets tangled in his telecaster
He can’t play it any faster
When he plays the blues
When he had the heart to ask her
And every note just shook the plaster
Now he’s just a mean old bastard
When he plays the blues

China town
Chasing that old dragon down
Madam Wong’s
We play the blues with the curtains drawn
Sidewalks of white
While the LA sun beat out the night
Pounding brain
My last transmission down the drain

And the master of disaster
Gets tangled in his telecaster
He can’t play it any faster
When he plays the blues
When he had the heart to ask her
And every note just shook the plaster
Now he’s just a mean old bastard
When he plays the blues

There’s a debt I owe
I’ll never pay before I go
So I sing the blues
Hand me down my walking shoes
You’re in my heart
Though we may be miles apart
There’s my point
I’ll see you in another joint

When the master of disaster
Gets tangled in his telecaster
He can’t play it any faster
When he plays the blues
When he had the heart to ask her
And every note just shook the plaster
Now he’s just a mean old bastard
When he plays the blues

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

