Ohh, ohh, I was “first” on some random internet forum

I just don’t get it. I really don’t….

WHY do people post comments of “first” in forums, blogs, etc…?
You’ll see this quite often on popular blogs, forums, news sites, etc. An article will appear, and people will start posting “first”, “second”, “third”, and so on. These comments obviously add nothing to the discussion, so why do people do it?

I’ve checked Urban Dictionary, and they don’t seem to understand why, and more than I do.

Apparently sought after position of being the first person to write on an online comment section, only to use the opportunity to write “first.”
Mike: “Yeah bro, I totally wrote first on that article.”

Allen: “Thats not douchey at all.”

 

Is there a point to it that I’m unaware of?
What do these people get out of it?
Who gives a fuck who read something first?

Can anybody explain this meme to me, because I can make no sense of it?


And on a related note, I typically would not do this, but if you post “first”, etc as a response, I will most likely ban your IP and delete the comment.

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ohh, ohh, I was “first” on some random internet forum

  1. cicinfogy says:

    Привет всем!!!!! Мне нравится этот форум 🙂 .

  2. oxityproppile says:

    Guy .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionallyI am glad to seek out a lot of helpful info right here within the post, we want work out more techniques in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

Leave a Reply

