God & Rape

[Originally posted by: Jack Rivall at Facebook]

Some theists like to claim that atheism doesn’t offer any answers for why they shouldn’t go around raping and killing others, as if that were an interest of theirs which they only refrain from indulging in because they think their god tells them not to do it. Well, why doesn’t their god simply prevent it from happening if it’s so bad? Why doesn’t their god step in to prevent human suffering — why is it left to us humans to take care of things?

Mark writes:

I know we have free will and that everything is our fault because of it, but once a man makes a decision to commit a rape it seems to me that an all-powerful god could just strike him dead before he manages to go through with it, and spare the victim, who made no such choice, from the often life-destroying trauma of being raped. But I’m probably missing the subtleties of modern theology, and being a ranting atheist fundamentalist.

Also (p46 Francis Collins, The Language of God):

“In my case I can see, albeit dimly, that my daughter’s rape was a challenge for for me to try to learn the real meaning of forgiveness in a terribly wrenching circumstance.”

So God will put your children through unspeakable torments to teach you philosophical lessons. God is omnipotent, and this is how he CHOOSES to go about things.

This is the same God who punishes whole cities for the transgressions of a few, indeed, who punishes the whole human race for the trivial disobedience of one innocent couple who didn’t even know right from wrong. And this is a good thing, apparently. We’re supposed to WORSHIP this God, who is loving.

But have no fear, he’ll help your sports team win the big game if you pray. Unless you lose, in which case that was part of his plan as well. Just have faith.

[original post]

I think I would be more than willing to forego some deep philosophical or theological lessons if it meant that innocent people would be spared significant suffering. I would certainly be more than willing to give up all sorts of lessons if it meant that my own daughter wouldn’t have to be raped. Honestly, though, wouldn’t be awfully self-centered and egotistical of me to think that my personal edification was the “purpose” behind my own daughter suffering a rape? What would be so special about me or my education that they would require my daughter needing to be raped?

[Originally posted by: Jack Rivall at Facebook]

p.s. Jack… If you ever happen across this, I’d love to know if there is somewhere else you posts these, because I’d rather link to something other than FB, since most FB links don’t work unless you’re friends with the person who created it.

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to God & Rape

  1. I wasn’t aware that belief in a God was the only thing stopping someone from raping and killing people.

    • Rodibidably says:

      Neither was I. Apparently I should be raping, pillaging, killing, etc… Why did nobody tell me this before?

      Oh yeah, that’s right; because we get our morality from the same place that religious people do, from the society we live in.

  2. Stephen says:

    Reminds me of the movie Kingdom of Heaven, “It is not a sin to kill an infidel, but the path the heaven” as the priest told the crusaders as they passed by.

    Funny that at one point, the church of christianity told people to kill others.

    • Rodibidably says:

      “at one point”???
      I think Dr George Tiller might tell you that they still do. Except he was murdered by a christian over something to do with his religious beliefs…

  3. Stephen says:

    The church didn’t hand down that order though.

Leave a Reply

