NOM – Gathering Storm – What Storm?

I wanted to write and post my own thought-out, well worded, response to the “Gathering Storm” PSA by the National Organization for Marriage.

And while I was looking for the transcript of it, so I could go point by point, ridiculing, and dismantling their “points”, I came across the following video.

And after watching this video, I am not sure that I am capable of putting together a better response. So I hope you enjoy this video as much as I did…

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Debate, Politics, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NOM – Gathering Storm – What Storm?

  1. ELBSeattle says:

    Thank you for this response. I am astonished that the ‘Gathering Storm’ video even got made, let alone released and played on TV. It is based on the fear of the unknown. The lines these actors are quoting have absolutely no basis in reality or logic.

    I have yet to hear exactly how two men or two women getting married will change how heterosexual couples live. The answer is: there is no way in the world my marriage to the man I love will change the way anyone else lives unless they choose to stand in my living room and shake their finger at me. Seriously. These people are saying, ‘You are offensive, so you must change.’ How about not focusing on the things they find so offensive? There are lots of foods I don’t like. I don’t spend any time at all thinking about how much I hate them and would never eat them. I simply don’t buy them. I don’t eat them. If someone offers me (say) a bowl of Froot Loops I will say, ‘No thank you.’ Would it make sense for me to say, ‘No, that is disgusting, and you are wrong for eating it’? No. Does this hypothetical person eating this hypothetical bowl of Froot Loops diminish my pleasure of eating my bowl of yogurt with fresh fruit? No. Would it make sense for me to make a video, with hired actors, telling the country how wrong it is to eat Froot Loops? Of course not.

    This is exactly the same thing.

    There is no way two men getting married affects any heterosexual marriage anywhere.

    The folks behind this video (and the actors who sold their souls to make it) need to get off their soapbox and start focusing on their own lives.

Leave a Reply

