Tyranny of the Majority

[This post has been moved to Thinking-Critically.com]

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Politics, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tyranny of the Majority

  1. JEG says:

    Please Check out this Response to Amicus Curiae Brief posted at the California Supreme Court’s
    website in support of upholding Prop 8.

    http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/courts/supreme/highprofile/documents/s168047-amcur-samuel-rodrigues.pdf

    Put that in your pipe and smoke it.

    Oh yeha! I thought Keith Olberman was a lousy Sportscaster. He is much worse at political commentary. He like many others including 4 of the Judges on our Cal Supreme Court have been duped in to believing the lies and retoric of the HomoSexual agenda reguarding Civil Rights and Discrimination.
    Bottom Line: One Man + One Man or One Woman + One Woman is not the same or equal to One Man + One Woman. This is why Californians voted to amend their Constitution via Prop 8.

  2. Rodibidably says:

    I’m unsure about what you wanted to gleam from the link. Perhaps you could be a bit more specific?

    Put that in your pipe and smoke it.

    Huh?

    Oh yeha!

    Again… Huh?

    I thought Keith Olberman was a lousy Sportscaster

    Ok… And that has to do with anything I said, how exactly?

    He is much worse at political commentary

    He’s certainly not my favorite, but I thought in this particular case he did quite a good job putting into word what I wanted to say.

    He like many others including 4 of the Judges on our Cal Supreme Court have been duped in to believing the lies and retoric of the HomoSexual agenda reguarding Civil Rights and Discrimination.

    “HomoSexual agenda”, I quite enjoy when people use this phrase. I’m curious if you could explain to me what you mean by this. Is it an agenda in your mind for people to fight to be treated equally by their government?

    As well, I’m curious exactly what “lies and retoric” you’re refering to, if you don’t mind explaining.

    One Man + One Man or One Woman + One Woman is not the same or equal to One Man + One Woman

    You’re right in that it is not the same. And currently it’s not even equal in the eyes of the law. My hope is that all people would be treated equally by our government. Apparently you don’t share this desire.

    This is why Californians voted to amend their Constitution via Prop 8.

    People voted for Prop 8 for one reason… religion.

  3. JEG says:

    Rod, From reading your essay, you seem like a very intelligent well educated person. I get the impression that you may discribe yourself in those terms. You may even pride yourself on how smart you really are. I guess my trifle comments
    must have zoomed right over your head. Swhoosh! I posted that link to the Legal Brief on our Supreme Court’s webpage because it pretty much describes my feelings on this issue. You should read it. Contrary to what you believe, one can have opinions on this issue that don’t necessarily have to be Religious. I believe that Marriage should only be between One Man and One Woman. I also believe that the State should endorse, condone and encourage its longivity exclusively. Even more so in our troubled society with so many broken homes and failed marriages. For these simple reasons. Marriage between One Man and One Woman creates the Ideal conditions for family, procreation, the raising of children, and ultimately “The Perpetuation of the Human Species”. Generally
    Speaking, This is what most of mankind has believed thruought history and certainly throught the history of our country. We can attribute our own existance to those who practiced that beleif. Family units consisting same sex couples are
    deficient in two areas. There is a lack of normal procreation and children adopted into same sex families are denied either a Mother or a Father. I believe this to be a less than an Ideal condition for Family. Bottom Line: Same sex
    marriages can’t contribute to society those things that a heterosexual marriage can. A Future!
    As far as civil rights goes we all have exactly the same civil rights. We are being treated equal. You are not being denied any civil rights that are spelled out in the Constitution. Many would cry out “Hatred and Discrimination” and attempt to spin this whole thing into a Civil Rights issue equal to major Civil Rights issues of our past. Although many people have been duped into believing this I simply don’t buy it. What advocates of Same Sex Marriage really want is for Society to Endorse and Validate their lifestyle. They want to feel that they are equal to Married Heterosexuals. They come to the table wanting “One Man + One Man” or “One Woman + One Woman” to be the same or equal to “One Man + One Woman” . Its not the same. Do the math . Most Advocates of Same Sex Marriage believe that if one doesn’t share the same view as theirs they are Bigots, Haters and Discriminaters. Where is their “Tollerence”? Many demand their “Right to Marry” and some say “Whether You Like it or Not”. I don’t harbor any haterade or wish to discriminate against anyone. I simply believe that it is in Society’s best interest to maintain exclusivly that Marriage is betweeen One Man and One Woman.

  4. Rodibidably says:

    From reading your essay, you seem like a very intelligent well educated person.

    Thank you.

    I get the impression that you may discribe yourself in those terms.

    Actually, I’m much more likely to describe myself as an asshole than anything else, but who am I to argue with you?

    You may even pride yourself on how smart you really are.

    I pride myself on being good at my job. I pride myself on doing anything I can for those I care about. I’d say that intelligence (percieved or real) is something to use for other means, but not something to have pride in, unless it is used for some end.

    I guess my trifle comments must have zoomed right over your head. Swhoosh!

    I never claimed your comments were “trifle”. Actually
    what seems to have zommed over my head is your attitude. You seem to come across as trying to attack me personally when you make comments such as “Put that in your pipe and smoke it”.

    I posted that link to the Legal Brief on our Supreme Court’s webpage because it pretty much describes my feelings on this issue. You should read it.

    In my experience people don’t post legal briefs as expressions of their feelings. I’ve always felt they are much too clinical.
    If there are specific passages you’d like to point out to me, feel free. I did read it, and got the general idea, but you seem to have a much more passionate view for it, so perhaps you’d care to enlighten me on those parts which you find most compelling.

    Contrary to what you believe, one can have opinions on this issue that don’t necessarily have to be Religious

    Please, explain to me the non-religious reasons for stopping people from getting married?
    If it’s because they can not procreate, would you also ban people from getting married if one of them in unable to procreate due to age or some medical reason? If not, what’s the difference between the two situations?

    I believe that Marriage should only be between One Man and One Woman.

    Why do you feel this way? Is it only because of procreation? People get married without ever having children. People have children without ever getting married. Why do you seem to draw a link between the two?

    As far as civil rights goes we all have exactly the same civil rights. We are being treated equal.

    Actually there are a number of legal rights associated with marriage that homosexual people are being denied currently (including survivorship).

    My only goal is to see that ALL people are treated EQUALLY by the government.

    I simply believe that it is in Society’s best interest to maintain exclusivly that Marriage is betweeen One Man and One Woman.

    Again, I’m curious how it is in the best intrest of society? I’m apparently not following the link between marriage and children that you seem to see.

  5. Pingback: Tyranny of the Majority « Skepfeeds-The Best Skeptical blogs of the day

  6. Pingback: The Believer’s Brain – Russ Schaade | Thinking Critically

  7. Pingback: Responding to a christian chain letter | Thinking Critically

Leave a Reply

