New Skepfeeds contributor

Recently Skepfeeds had an Open enrollment for a contributor to help out updating the site regularly. As an avid reader of skeptical blogs myself, I felt that this was a good fit for me to help out.

I figured that as an opening, I’d introduce myself, so that later on when my plan for world domination comes to fruition, you can say “I knew him when”.

(If you’rte reading this here you know that obviously) I have my own blog, Rodibidably, where I post about Religion, Science, Skepticism, Politics, Psychology, Quotes, and many non-skeptical topics that strike me as worthy of sharing. While my own blog is not skepifically skeptical, it is more of a personal blog about anything I want to post, I do consider myself a skeptic and an atheist, and as such much of what I post on Rodibidably is of a skeptical nature.

I follow a number of skeptical and atheist blogs and podcasts, and I hope that the posts I add here from those sources give a good representation of those sources which I find interesting, intruiging, informative, and (damn, I can’t think of a 4th i word to use). While my primary area of intrest in the “skeptical movement” is religion/atheism, I do follow a number of “traditional” skepticfal topics as well, but I’d expect that my focus will be more atheistic than many “typical” skeptics.

I will try to keep to the Skepfeeds guidelines, and post articles in their entirety with no input from myself, but I am more than willing to engage in debates in the comments if people have a different view than myself. I do ask one thing though, if I post an article, it probably means I agree with the overall theme of the article, it does not mean I agree with every single phrase used in the article. For instance, if I post something from Christopher Hitchens, that does not mean I support the war in Iraq. If you have any questions about my personal views on a subject, please ask before jumping to conclusions and accusing me of specific beliefs or views…

And with that said, I’d like to end this initial post with a quote I came across a while ago from Tim Minchin:

I think the trouble with being a critical thinker or an atheist, or a humanist is that you’re right. And it’s quite hard being right in the face of people who are wrong without sounding like a fuckwit. People go “do you think the vast majority of the world is wrong”, well yes, i don’t know how to say that nicely, but yes.”

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Religion, Skepticism, Website. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

