The Boy With The Incredible Brain

I have always been fascinated by people that are incredible in some fashion. Whether it’s Einstein having amazing insights, that today seem almost obvious but in his time, or Micheal Phelps putting on one of the greatest Olympic showings in history, some people are extraordinary.

In this group that can be described as extraordinary are Savants. I have always been pretty good with math. When I was a kid I used to be able to do fairly complex math problems in my head. While I am no longer as good at this as I used to be, back in school, I could challenge people to see if I could get the answer faster (with them using a calculator and me doing the problem in my head). Now I was certainly not at the level of a Savant, but I was good enough to win some bets, and to gain a real appreciation for the abilities of true Savants.

Which leads to this video… I saw this a few months ago on the History Channel, or Discovery, or …, and was really impressed by how he described thew way he views numbers, and his process for recalling them. With that I give you… “The Boy With The Incredible Brain”.

starstarstar

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Movies, Psychology, Review, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

