SweetAfton23’s “My Hope”

Once again surfing around YouTube, I came across a video I wanted to share. While her style is laid back, and might not appeal to everybody it does appeal to me, and since it’s my blog, you’re going to have to deal with it for a few minutes, or close your browser or click on one of your “other” favorites.

Ok, if you’re still here at this point you’re not going anywhere, so you may as well just click play on the video below so you can listen to it while you’re reading the rest of this post. Go ahead and do it now, I’ll wait…

Alright, welcome back, now let’s see, where were we? Ahh yes, I was explaining what today’s post is all about, well as the title should hint, this about a musician I came across who’s music I enjoy.

I must admit, for the sake of full disclosure that a few of her songs are a bit grating, but overall I’d say somewhere around 75% or more of what I have listened to are great. A large percentage of her songs are on the ukulele, but she does have a few (ok, at least one I noticed) on guitar, but I think the ukulele songs are different, fun, unique, and actually pretty damn good musically.

Now before we get to the video and lyrics for my favorite song of hers, and the entire reason for this post, I’d like to include a few links to two of my other favorite songs.

And now we finally make it to the show, sit back, relax, and don’t pay any attention to the man behind the curtain.

The years are going by so fast it really is bewilderin’
And we’ll be so-called “grown ups” and have mortgages and children
I hope we all gain worldliness, and wisdom, maturity
But I hope most of all that MySpace falls into obscurity

I hope our profiles all go dead, entombed in distant servers
A monument of your youth, although lacking its observers
Your page will be an empty shell, when no one is behind it
I hope your MySpace stays forever – and I hope that your kids find it

How I hope that you forget your MySpace
I hope it slips completely from your mind
And I hope it stays up long enough for the next generation to find
And I hope that it embarrasses your children
I hope their bratty friends all forward it around
And I hope that you forget your password
So you cannot take it down

If your kids think you vaguely square, it will be so much clearer
When they laugh at the pictures you took in your bathroom mirror
And all the bands you listen to, your kids will be exposin’
“Who is this Soulja Boy you reference, who’s ‘Uh Oh Explosion’?”

They’ll marvel at how old you are, they’ll “rofl” at your outfits
Your tastes may pass as “vintage” in the future – but I doubt it

I hope your cynical kids say, “Holy crap, this is great
these comments date all the way back to 2008.”
I hope they dig through your pictures, and find some we might call compromising
I hope that seeing young Mom in a swimsuit or smoking a hookah isn’t too traumatizing
But it will be past their comprehension
They’ll ask “Did Grandpa not give you enough attention?”

[insert rocking out here]

They might poke at your top 8 friends, read your comments at the most
I only wish that they could see the inane bulletins you post

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Humor, Music, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SweetAfton23’s “My Hope”

  1. Molly says:

    For the sake of customer service, which songs are grating?

  2. Rodibidably says:

    Primarily Toxic, but that’s probably due more to the song choice, than your version.

    And Mr. Fancy Pants gets a tad annoying since it stops every 10 seconds, just as it’s starting to get catchy…

    I didn’t mean to be negative, I just tend to point out the negatives more than the positives, since I figure that by posting something, I’m already giving it a “seal of approval” of sorts…

    But to be clear:
    overall I’d say somewhere around 75% or more of what I have listened to are great

    different, fun, unique, and actually pretty damn good musically

  3. GV says:

    That’s harsh. Toxic may not be my favorite song in the world, but Molly performs it well and demonstrates her great abilities in performing it. She has a great gift both of musical talent and confidence in performing–regardless if she agrees or not, she comes across well on stage and in front of the camera.

    I enjoyed her performance with Coulton yesterday at the Triple Door, and absolutely LOVE ‘Road Trip’.

    Cheers and keep up the good work.

  4. Pingback: More From Molly (SweetAfton)… and Bob Dylan’s “Don’t think twice, it’s all right” « Rodibidably

Leave a Reply

