Blog Searching / Linking

I was playing around the other day, checking out what IceRocket, Google Blog, and Technorati had to say about who’s linking to my blog.

The first thing I noticed is that Mark Cuban’s IceRocket, which was supposed to be the first complete blog search tool had the least to say with only 1 link. While I still think there are some good things with IceRocket like the Trend Tool, and I won’t completely stop checking it out for blog information, I was quite disappointed that it only showed one incoming link.
(update: it now shows 3 incoming links)

Google did a better job, showing 5 incoming links, but it’s still far from a complete picture. I still use Google as my primary search engine, but I think that it is clear that their blog search tool is still lacking.
(update: it now shows 4 incoming links)

Technorati easily beat the other two with 17 incoming links, and as far as I can tell it has a complete list of every incoming link to here. I’m becoming more and more of a fan of Technorati, my only complaint with it really is that by setting up the Authority and Ranking system, they have set up a competition where many people are cheating to gain a better score. Using Technorati to find new blogs is only going to give you the “most popular”, but popular by who’s standards. I think the best way to use this site is that once you know of a good blog, use it to find other blogs/sites that have something in common with that first blog.

About Rodibidably

Jeff Randall is a frequent volunteer for free-thought organizations, including the Center For Inquiry – DC. Having been blogging since January 2008, he decided that a community of bloggers would be an interesting new experience (or at the very least a fun way to annoy his friends into reading his posts more frequently). Since finding out about about the existence of, and then joining, the atheist/skeptic community in 2007 he has been committed to community activism, critical thinking in all aspects of life, science, reason, and a fostering a secular society.
This entry was posted in Review, Website. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blog Searching / Linking

  1. Ian Kallen says:

    Glad to hear you found what you expected to when you used Technorati. While the authority metric is not perfect and we’re concerned about the incentives to game the system, having metrics around blogging behaviors provides measurements of attention that a lot of bloggers, blog readers, main stream media and advertisers find valuable. And I hope you will too 🙂
    Have a great day!
    -Ian
    Technorati

  2. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

